

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.

For Immediate Release

Contact: Dorthea Juul, PhD <u>djuul@abpn.com</u> (847) 229-6526

2019-20 APPLICATIONS NOW AVAILABLE AND 2018-19 RECIPIENT ANNOUNCED FOR ABPN RESEARCH AWARDS

March 22, 2018, Buffalo Grove, Illinois --- Applications are now available for the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) 2019-20 Research Awards on the ABPN website <u>www.abpn.com</u>. The recipient for the 2018-19 awards has also been announced.

The ABPN Research Award is intended to support research projects related to the mission of the ABPN, which is to develop and provide valid and reliable procedures for initial and continuing certification in psychiatry and neurology. While any projects relevant to the mission of the ABPN will be considered, the ABPN is particularly interested in research in the following areas:

- Assessment of practitioner competence
- Assessment of lifelong learning
- Assessment of resident competencies (including clinical skills)
- Assessment of physician resilience

The 2019-20 application and accompanying materials are due to the ABPN by August 10, 2018. Recipients will be announced by November 1, 2018, with funding to start on January 1, 2019.

2018-19 recipient

Robert Marvin, MD

Dr. Marvin and his collaborators, Yoon Soo Park, PhD, and Ara Tekian, PhD, are at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago. Dr. Marvin is an Associate Professor of Clinical Psychiatry, Department of Psychiatry, and Dr. Park is an Associate Professor and Dr. Tekian a Professor in the Department of Medical Education.

Dr. Marvin and his collaborators will work with Joseph Cooper, MD, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Neuroscience, University of Chicago Pritzker School of Medicine, and Robert Lloyd, MD, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine, to evaluate sources of validity evidence for assessment tools used to inform the Psychiatry Milestones and to identify learning trajectories of psychiatry trainees. They anticipate that the project will yield robust assessment guidelines that can support educational curriculum for psychiatry residency programs.

Past Research Award recipients are posted on the ABPN website.

The **Research Award Committee**, chaired by Robert Golden, MD, includes Drs. Kerry Levin (Vice Chair), L. John Greenfield, Jr., Ruth Levine, Michele Pato, Devon Rubin, Sanjay Singh, and Lowell Tong.

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes.

For more information, please visit the ABPN Awards Program page on our website at <u>www.abpn.com</u> .