

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.

For Immediate Release

Contact: Cathy Szmurlo Manager, Communications <u>cszmurlo@abpn.com</u> (847) 229-6536

AMERICAN BOARD OF PSYCHIATRY AND NEUROLOGY ANNOUNCES 2019 BOARD OF DIRECTORS

May 13, 2019, Deerfield, Ill. --- The <u>American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.</u> (ABPN) announces its 2019 Board of Directors. The board's term runs from January through December 2019.



J. Clay Goodman, MD has been elected Chair. Dr. Goodman is Professor of Pathology & Immunology and Neurology at Baylor College of Medicine, Houston, TX. He is Associate Dean for Undergraduate Medical Education directing the Foundational Sciences Curriculum and he directs the Neuropathology Program.

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Goodman serves as Chair of the Neurology Council and Chair of six committees: Bylaws, Nomination for 2020 Officers, Appeals Review-Neurology, Irregular Behavior, Disability Accommodations, and Certification Examination Combined-Neurology. He is also Chair of the Certification Examination Combined General Neurology Subcommittee. Dr. Goodman also serves on the

Communications, Finance, Investment and Strategic Planning Committees.

At the AAN, he serves on the Member Engagement Committee, and he has held positions of Chair of the RITE subcommittee and Chair of the Program Accreditation and Development Subcommittee of the Education Committee, founding Editor for Online CME for Neurology, and founding Co-Chair of the Credentialing Council of the UCNS. He has served as Member and Treasurer of the Board of Trustees of the American Brain Foundation. He is Board certified in both Neurology and Neuropathology. Dr. Goodman is an internationally recognized authority on traumatic brain injury.

Dr. Goodman succeeds George A. Keepers, MD, Carruthers Professor and Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at Oregon Health and Science University, as Chair.



Robert N. Golden, MD has been elected Vice Chair. Dr. Golden is Dean of the School of Medicine and Public Health, Vice Chancellor for Medical Affairs, Robert Turrell Professor in Medical Leadership, and Professor of Psychiatry at the University of Wisconsin-Madison. He served as Chair of the Department of Psychiatry at the University of North Carolina School of Medicine for 11 years, prior to accepting his current position.

As an ABPN Director, Dr. Golden serves as Chair of the Psychiatry Council and as Chair of the Appeals Review-Psychiatry, Research and Development, Faculty Innovation in Education Award, and Research Award Committees. Dr. Golden is Vice

Chair of the Finance and Investment Committees. He also serves on the Bylaws, Nomination for Year 2020 Officers, Communications, Irregular Behavior, and Strategic Planning Committees. Dr. Golden currently serves as President of the American College of Psychiatrists. He is a Distinguished Fellow of the APA and a Fellow of the ACP, ACNP, and CINP.

Dr. Golden succeeds Laurie Gutmann, MD, Clinical Professor and Vice Chair of Clinical Research in the Department of Neurology at the Carver College of Medicine, University of Iowa, as Vice Chair.

Newly elected to the ABPN 2019 Board of Directors are Terrence L. Cascino, MD and Andrea G. Stolar, MD.

"The ABPN is indeed very fortunate to have Dr. J. Clay Goodman as its Chair and Dr. Robert Golden as its Vice Chair this year," said Larry R. Faulkner, MD, ABPN President and CEO. "Both have been excellent directors of the ABPN for the past seven years and bring a wealth of relevant professional experience to their new roles."

"Likewise, the ABPN is pleased to welcome Drs. Andrea Stolar and Terrence Cascino as its newest directors. Drs. Stolar and Cascino have had distinguished careers as academicians, clinicians, and leaders in their respective disciplines, and the ABPN will benefit greatly from their experiences."

Additional members of the Executive Committee include: Paramjit T. Joshi, MD, Board Secretary; Christopher R. Thomas, MD, Board Treasurer; John B. Bodensteiner, MD, Board Member-at-Large; and Allison Brashear, MD, MBA, Board Member-at-Large.

For the ABPN, the specialties of psychiatry and neurology are represented equally on its board of directors.

In addition to Dr. Goodman, the 2019 ABPN Neurology Directors include:

- Imran I. Ali, MD
- John B. Bodensteiner, MD
- Allison Brashear, MD, MBA
- Amy Brooks-Kayal, MD
- Terrence L. Cascino, MD
- Steven L. Lewis, MD
- Nina F. Schor, MD, PhD

In addition to Dr. Golden, the 2019 ABPN Psychiatry Directors include:

- Joan M. Anzia, MD
- Robert J. Boland, MD
- Josepha A. Cheong, MD
- Paramjit T. Joshi, MD
- Jeffrey M. Lyness, MD
- Andrea G. Stolar, MD
- Christopher R. Thomas, MD

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and continuing certification processes. For more information, please visit our website at <u>abpn.com</u>.