For Immediate Release



Contact:

Dorthea Juul, PhD 847.229.6526 djuul@abpn.com

American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology Announces 2020-21 Award Recipients

April 23, 2020, Deerfield, III. – The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. (ABPN) is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2020-21 ABPN Faculty Innovation in Education Award and the 2020-21 ABPN Research Award.

The ABPN Faculty Innovation in Education Award supports the development of innovative education and/or evaluation projects that promote effective residency/fellowship training or lifelong learning of practicing psychiatrists and neurologists. Each year, up to two psychiatry and two neurology fellows are selected.

The 2020-21 recipients are:

Mary Camp, MD

Department of Psychiatry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center Neurocognitive Psychiatry: A Study of Current Practices and Development of a Simulation Based Curriculum

Adriane Dela Cruz, MD

Department of Psychiatry, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center From "Yeah, No" to "Yeah, Yeah!": Development and Assessment of a Podcast to Promote Critical Evaluation of the Literature and Lifelong Learning in Psychiatry

Nuri Jacoby, MD

Department of Neurology, SUNY Downstate Medical Sciences University

Development and Evaluation of an Innovative Neurology E-Learning Didactic Curriculum for Psychiatry Residents (DELIVERED)

Cen Zhang, MD

Department of Neurology, New York University Langone Health

Talking the Talk: Experiential Learning for Neurology Faculty to Develop Peer to Peer

Communication Skills and Professionalism

The ABPN Research Award supports research projects related to the mission of the ABPN, which is to promote and assess the competency of psychiatry and neurology candidates for initial and continuing certification (maintenance of certification). Each year, up to two psychiatry and two neurology awards are presented.

The 2020-21 recipients are:

Robert Marvin, MD

Dr. Marvin, Department of Psychiatry, and his collaborators from the Department of Medical Education, Yoon Soo Park, PhD, and Ara Tekian, PhD, are at the University of Illinois College of Medicine at Chicago. They will work with Robert Lloyd, MD, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine; Senada Bajmakovic-Kacila, MD,

Rush University Medical Center; Marla Hartzen, MD, Advocate Lutheran General Hospital; Ryan Finkenbine, MD, University of Illinois College of Medicine at Peoria; and Art Walaszek, MD, University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health.

Developing Practice-Based Research Networks in Psychiatry Education to Advance the Validity of Assessment Systems for Entrustable Professional Activities

Deepti Zutshi, MD

Department of Neurology, Wayne State University School of Medicine

Establishment and Implementation of a Web-Based Real-Time Quality Metric Tool to

Improve Patient Outcomes and Practitioner Quality Measures

Due to the healthcare crisis, the 2021-22 Awards Program has been postponed at this time. When available, additional information will be posted on the <u>ABPN Awards Program page</u> on our website.

About the American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc.

The American Board of Psychiatry and Neurology, Inc. is a not-for-profit corporation dedicated to serving the public interest and the professions of psychiatry and neurology by promoting excellence in practice through certification and maintenance of certification processes.

For more information, please visit our website at www.abpn.com or contact us at questions@abpn.com.

Connect with us



